Mansfield Basketball, Football Players Named Hall of Famers

The first starting five boys' and girls' Mansfield High hall of fame basketball teams and three football players will be honored Friday night.


Mansfield High School will induct its inaugural class for the basketball hall of fame on Friday, Nov. 23,  at the Holiday Inn in Taunton with a reception at 5:30 p.m. and the dinner will begin at 6:30 p.m.

"The Starting Five" will represent the top basketball players in Mansfield High School history.

From the men's basketball program, the five inductees are:
Geoff Stearns (1959), Ron Gentili (1962), Dave Fusco (1964),
Jack Souza (1968), Paul Souza (1979). 

From the women's basketball program, the five inductees are:
Ellen O'Malley (1980), Theresa DeGirolamo-Nyhan (1983),
Susan Pelrine-Burbank (1887), Suzanne Patchett-Pentin (1993) and Kelly O'Neil-Connell (2000)

The Gridiron Club of Mansfield will join the Basketball Hall of Fame, and three former football players will also be inducted into the Football Hall of Fame. The three inductees are; Tom Frongillo (1975), Ronald Sankey (1984) and John Connell (2002). 

The Hall of Fame induction is open to the public and all are welcome to attend to celebrate the accomplishments of these alumni. Tickets are $45 and can be purchased by sending payment to: The Gridiron Club of Mansfield, PO Box 481, Mansfield, MA 02048 with checks payable to: The Gridiron Club of Mansfield.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »